

THE UNDER SECRETARY OF DEFENSE

3010 DEFENSE PENTAGON WASHINGTON, DC 20301-3010

NOV 17 2023

MEMORANDUM FOR: SEE DISTRIBUTION

SUBJECT: Announcement of the 2023 Defense Acquisition Workforce Award Winners

It is with great pleasure that I announce the winners of the 2023 Defense Acquisition Workforce Awards in the following categories:

Individual Achievement Award

Auditing

Anne Decker, Army, Aberdeen Proving Ground, MD

Business Cost Estimating

Sean Chaffe, Air Force, Wright-Patterson AFB, OH

Business Financial Management

Maria-Dolores Wong, Space Force, Chantilly, VA

Contracting

David Sharp, Space Force, Chantilly, VA

ETM (Engineering/Technical)

Paul Bascom, Air Force, Wright-Patterson AFB, OH

ETM (Production/Sustainment)

Roberto Oteiza, Marine Corps, Quantico, VA

Flexibility in Contracting

Captain Nixie Mistri, National Reconnaissance Office, Chantilly, VA

International Security Cooperation

Captain Rebecca Cardinal, Air Force, Washington, DC

Life Cycle Logistics

Stephen Meyer, Air Force, Wright-Patterson AFB, OH

Program Management

Captain Seth Miller, Navy, Washington, DC

Requirements Management

Major Matthew Guertin, Air Force, Hampton, VA

Services Acquisition

Rhonda Link, Navy, Cherry Point, NC

Small Business

Andrew Fuller, Navy, Washington, DC

Software Development

Major James Evans, Air Force, Washington, DC

Software Management

Major Gordon Broadbent, Air Force, Washington, DC

Test and Evaluation

Sarah Naiva, Navy, Patuxent River, MD

Team Award

Software Innovation Team Award

ArmyIgnitED, Army, Arlington, VA

Flexibility in Contracting Team Award

Advanced Combat Systems / Multi-Domain C3Contracting Team, Air Force, Washington, DC

Workforce Development Innovation Award Winner (Large Organization)

Contract Operations Directorate, Missile Defense Agency, Redstone Arsenal, AL

Workforce Development Innovation Award Winner (Small Organization)

PEO Ships / PMS 400D, Navy, Washington, DC

David Packard Excellence in Acquisition Award

Armed Overwatch Program Team, USSOCOM, MacDill AFB, FL F-15EX, Fighters & Advanced Aircraft Directorate, Air Force, Wright-Patterson AFB, OH PEO, Assembled Chemical Weapons Alternatives, DTRA, Aberdeen Proving Ground, MD Space Development Agency, Space Force, Washington, DC

Congratulations to our winners for their significant accomplishments. Winners will be announced through Defense News, and I look forward to recognizing each awardee at the recognition ceremony to be held at a date to be determined. The Defense Acquisition University Office of Human Capital Initiatives will follow-up with Military Departments, Defense Agencies, and winners with additional ceremony details.

It is key that we continue to recognize the significant contributions of our Defense acquisition professionals who are critical in supporting our military in defense of our Nation.

William A. LaPlante

WWIAM

DISTRIBUTION:

Secretaries of the Military Departments
Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff
Under Secretaries of Defense
Chief of the National Guard Bureau
General Counsel of the Department of Defense
Director of Cost Assessment and Program Evaluation
Inspector General of the Department of Defense
Director of Operational Test and Evaluation
Chief Information Officer of the Department of Defense
Assistant Secretary of Defense for Legislative Affairs
Assistant to the Secretary of Defense for Public Affairs
Director of Net Assessment
Directors of Defense Agencies
Directors of DoD Field Activities